fangrrl_squees: (jb - plot bunny)
[personal profile] fangrrl_squees
Quite by accident (ie, I put in a lowball bid and figured it'd be blown out the water) I now have a copy of Corpse Marker on its way to me. There's something to be said for being willing to accept that used books are going to look, gosh, used. Collectors who want that out-of-print-for-fifteen-years paperback to be in mint condition? They must have a lot more in the way of disposable income than I do. ;)

Watch. The book will frustrate me even more. But it's a fourth Doctor and Leela story, so I'll probably enjoy it to one degree or another.

In the meantime, the Kaldor City fanfic continues to fall apart on me at key points, no matter how I approach it. As I'm shamelessly going into AU-ish territory, I might go whole-hog and introduce a new character. An X-factor in the Uvanov/Landerchild rivalry would get me right out of the corner I keep painting myself into. Well, so would killing Landerchild, but I don't want to go quite that far. Not yet, at least. Heh heh heh.

And I might as well admit it; when I say "Going into AU territory" what I really mean is "doing a lot of handwaving to undo/ignore/counteract the Fendahl storyline". I like the Fendahl, I really do - I just don't agree with it being tied into the Kaldor City/Robots of Death continuity.

It’s a cheerfully shameless sex-and-violence-and-robophobia story, which happily chugs along and then, wham, it gets struck by a plot almost out of left field (there was a bit of foreshadowing, I'll concede that) with the whole Fendahl/Taren-Capel-as-tool-of-ditto plot. I don't know about you, dear reader, but it was a bit of a gear-change for me. Yes, yes, you can mix occult and sci-fi - and the brainy folks behind DW are the ones best able to do it - but it simply didn't work for me in this particular case.

So, I'm going to follow the classic fannish tradition of sticking my fingers in my ears and going "La! La! La! I deny the unwanted elements from my paradigm!”.

I’d like it noted for the record that I don’t do that very often. I’m usually a big believer in accepting the (in my opinion) bad with the (in my opinion) good. ‘tis part of being a fan. Usually. Except when it isn’t.

*pauses to re-read last paragraph*

That’s it, I’m going for a cup of tea...

Profile

fangrrl_squees: (Default)
aka Britgeekgrrl

March 2012

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
111213 14151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 01:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios