fangrrl_squees: (Default)
[personal profile] fangrrl_squees
Right, then.

I re-watched the 1996 Doctor Who telemovie, and I have drawn the following conclusions:
  • Was that really the best they could do to make Vancouver look like San Francisco? It was rather pitiful - but maybe it's easier for non-Bay Area folk to bear.
  • PMG has really refined his interpretation of the character over the course of the audios. What's seen in the movie is... well, I hesistate to use the term hollow mockery, so how about rough outline, instead?
  • Wow. That was some wig. No wonder PMG likes it when the BFAs make fun of the Doctor's hair.
  • Okay, okay. I was a bit hard on Grace. I'm still not entirely keen on her, though.
  • Eric Roberts had far too much fun, bless him, and now I regret not seeing him at Gally. However, I suspect the odds for his return in '08 are excellent.
  • The TARDIS still looks lovely, dammit.

So I guess my husband wins the unspoken bet that if I gave the TVM another chance, I'd like it more. It hasn't aged all that well, let's be honest, but telemovies aren't usually made with posterity in mind. It's a rare exception - My Beautiful Launderette leaps to mind - that survives the passage of time with any sort of grace.

The strange costuming idea of doooom continues to gain steam. Apparently there's a hint of a chance that a galpal of mine can be wheedled into cosplaying the Eighth Doctor at Gallifrey '08 (although she'd do a straight cosplay, no silliness like what I have in mind for Ten) and I think I could possibly wheedle [livejournal.com profile] iamradar into doing a turn as the Seventh Doctor. Damn, if we could get a gal willing to do the Ninth Doctor, that would be a hoot. But it's all very, very up in the air right now and besides, we need a bunch of terribly butch men in wigs for the companions... Seriously, though, I've got Costume Con '08 to think about, and that's going to take up a lot more of what few sewing cycles I've got, so I'm not going to stay up nights on this one (too late!).

Date: 2007-02-23 05:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ladykoori.livejournal.com
Nine would be really easy to do. Its a pair of black/dark blue jeans, a sweater, and a beat up leather jacket. I would think you'd be able to talk someone into that.

Date: 2007-02-23 05:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fangrrl-squees.livejournal.com
You have no idea how crazily perfectionist my gang o'costuming friends are. They make me look like a piker. ;)

Date: 2007-02-28 10:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dancingshaman.livejournal.com
[livejournal.com profile] baronlaw would make quite a good Nine, if he could lose the chin fuzz and agree to the short-short haircut. And with proper motivation, I could probably be talked into doing Six, as long as I didn't have to look at myself...

Date: 2007-02-28 10:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] britgeekgrrl.livejournal.com
I think you've missed the point of the concept. I'm rounding up gals to put into Doctor costumes.

FWIW, I think you'd make a very cute Zoe. ;)

Date: 2007-11-28 10:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bunyip.livejournal.com
Okay, for the companions of the femmy Doctors ... which companion do you think suits me?

Date: 2007-11-29 01:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bunyip.livejournal.com
I had an idea of one to run past you, though it is going for the cliche...

me as Tegan ;)

Profile

fangrrl_squees: (Default)
aka Britgeekgrrl

March 2012

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
111213 14151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 08:20 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios